Top listeners:

skip_previous skip_next
00:00 00:00
  • play_arrow Creating The Vibe


Your guide to the best new music available today.

todayApril 15, 2023


April new music appreciation!

If you’re looking for new music, you’ve arrived at the right place! Welcome to the April edition of the LiQUORiCE Nu Music Show. This month’s new music features middle eastern cinematic funk via Tel Aviv with Boom Pam on Batov Records. Multi-dimensional electronic musician Tryangle Man makes the cut with his self-released album Voyages. It is filled with strong emotions following events in Beirut. Make sure you check out his live set, it’s fantastic. 

New music from Glitterbox
Michael Gray – You’re Gonna Make Me Love Somebody Else

Neo-soul outfit Reel People have released their first album ‘Love 2’ in over 10 years and it’s a cracker! David Walters forthcoming album ‘Soul Tropical’ on Heavenly Sweetness also features in this month’s exciting show. His hallmark Caribbean Soul vibes spreads joy across all 13 tracks of the album. In addition, the dancefloor continues to heat up with Michael Gray’s return to Glitterbox. Michael has dropped an addictive release bursting with funk and soul. ‘You’re Gonna Make Me Love Somebody Else’, gets Gray’s classic sounding remix treatment and orchestral approach of strings and brass to create an irresistible groove.


New music from Philophon Records
The Polyversal Souls – Sad Nile

Philophon Records add to the vibe with their in-house band The Polyversal Souls dropping two classic songs from the label’s back catalogue. ‘Sad Nile’ is taken from the band’s debut ‘Invisible Joy’ from 2015, furthermore the song has been remastered with extra fire added to the hypnotic rhythm and lovely melancholic Ethiopian melody.

The b-side is an instrumental version of Florence Adooni’s catchy highlife twister ‘Mam Pe’ela Su’ure’ , featuring Jimi Tenor on flute, and yes, it sounds as good as it reads!

New music from all around the world


New music from Bongo Records
Project Gemini – After The Dawn

‘After The Dawn’ is the first track Project Gemini, AKA Paul Osborne, has unveiled since the release of his impressive 2022 debut album, ‘The Children Of Scorpio’. This release is rich with the dense incense of 70s Anatolian Rock. Turkish musicians such as Erkin Koray and Edip Akbayram have provided a captivating influence. Furthermore, there’s a hazy, psych-folk-funk sound that will delight fans and win over new audiences. The drummer Raz Man of Sababa 5 fame creates the backbone for the song, laying down a relaxed yet snappy breakbeat groove. Paul Elliott from Eleven 76 (and director of the Library Music Film) sprinkles some magic in the form of Eastern percussion. Paul’s bass guitar is front and centre, whilst his layered vocals wash throughout the production. Mixed by Paul Isherwood of The Soundcarriers, and mastered by Joker, ‘After The Dawn’ is a sonic tour de force. With a new album in the works, ‘After The Dawn’ is the hors d’oeuvre in Project Gemini’s next chapter. Thematically, the album is loosely based on the concept of how the hours between dusk and dawn impact human behaviour.

New music on Rocafort Records
Beat Bronco – Dr. Kiffi

The Beat Bronco Organ Trio is back with 10 heavy-weight instrumental tracks of the finest quality. “Another Shape of Essential Sounds” sees the Madrid trio stick to their winning formula with a psychedelic twist: sublime Hammond organ grooves, nifty guitar work and dynamic drums combine to produce a rich, uplifting, and vintage sound. Out on Rocafort Records, the album is straight to the point, no fillers, and no messing around with the longest cut just over 4 mins, these are irresistible, foot-tapping tunes that sound as good on the dance floor as at a dinner party.

New music from F*CLR
The Descendants – Telling Lies

When The Descendants delivered their soulful house music project to F*CLR label boss, Jo Wallace, it became clear that the tracks belonged on two releases to allow the music to shine. The original vocal and instrumental are beautifully complimented with a set of fabulous remixes with disco niceness from Dan Tenor City & Laroye and the North Street West production crew invoking the spirit of Charles Stepney. This tale of deceit is cloaked in a deceptively simple melody, and you could be easily lulled into a false sense of musical security until you listen to the message in the lyrics – not everything is as it seems beside the sun-drenched poolside….

There’s more new music!

Elsewhere in the show we have the amazing Demarkus Lewis on Viva Recordings, Oscar Martos on Rocafort Records, Str4ta on Brownswood, Emamkay on Stay True Sounds and much more for you to add to your record collection for this month.

You can restream the show on our Mixcloud page and also tune in to the show and many additional releases that we couldn’t fit into the 2 hours here.

That’s all for now but see you again for the May Nu Music Show blog.

About The LiQUORiCE Nu Music Show

There’s so much good new music out there, it’s hard to keep up! Digital technology makes accessibility much much easier but also more proliferative! So we’ve curated a show that brings the art of crate diggin into the modern dynamic where only the best new music we come across gets featured. Without specialist shows of this nature, the artist/label are in the impossible situation of trying to self promote and standout in an increasingly saturated, competitive and AI-influenced marketplace. We want to lend a hand, or should that be an ear, to the art of curating a good new music show whilst introducing you to some of the amazingly talented artists and musicians out there.

The show is live-streamed on the 1st Sunday of each month and is broadcast every day on LiQUORiCE.FM

Written by: Station Manager